Inspiration for Monday, March 7

shes a dreamer

I love this quote. Not only is reaffirming that possibilities are endless, it also reminds us that dreaming is great, and thinking is important, but doing is the thing that turns these possibilities into opportunities. I think this is a great quote for writers to remember, and it’s certainly something that I relate to.

I’m fortunate. My creative life is manifested in multiple ways. I love to cook and be creative in the kitchen. I like to paint and draw and am pretty decent when I put my mind to it. I’m creative at making arts and crafts and I love to make my home more beautiful. I also love to tell stories and create new worlds. This is the passion that has sustained me throughout my life. And it’s the one that is closest to my identity. Even when I wasn’t actively writing and not actively trying to become a writer, it was the thing that I thought of myself as. It was the only job I ever truly, truly wanted for an extended period of time.

As much as I love having multiple outlets of creative expression, it can get hard when deciding where to focus energy and attention. It’s been a long and hard process of pruning my creative and professional ambitions until I figured out what path best fit me and my goals. I’ve had multiple jobs that could have gone different ways if I’d dedicated my attention to them. But, I kept coming back to the underlying knowledge that writing stories was my big passion and I needed to figure out a way to make it happen while also paying my bills.

Saying no to the possibilities we see everywhere can be hard. It isn’t fun to cut away and close doors and tell yourself that while painting is fun you need to focus on work. It isn’t pleasant to fail at other ventures, or to realize the time and effort you put into them is ultimately a waste because it doesn’t meet your needs. But, saying no to some things leaves you open to others, and those chosen paths, the ones you actually set forth on, and the ones you actively keep clear of obstacles can produce the sweetest results. So I’m focusing on the doing of the thing, and less on the dreaming. That might mean I spend less time posting, but I hope I’ll be able to find a balance between all of the balls I’m currently juggling. In the meantime, keep seeing possibilities but also focusing on your own goals.

Leave a Reply

